Stuck in the slow lane

19th October 2020

About a month ago I had managed to do the first edit of the first eight chapters of my book in four weeks. Now, here I was another month on and only up to Chapter 10. What happened?

Doing some temp work, applying for proper jobs, visiting friends and family, worrying about the health of family members, helping other friends with chores, watching TV and practising piano takes up a surprising large amount of time – too much.

When I finally made some time to continue with my edit I found it so difficult to get started. I’d forgotten my method of planning and note taking. I’d forgotten the story so far. I’d forgotten what the reader would know by now and what they wouldn’t. I’d almost forgotten why I wanted to write it.

Writers’ Groups

Then I saw an invitation to a monthly Writer’s Meet up from my first Writing Coach. I’d never been involved in a voluntary writing group before and had always been a bit sceptical about what the benefits would be but I decided to give it a go. So two days ago I spent a Zoom hour in the company of eight other writers, all at different stages of their writing to me but all saying the same things.

It was comforting to know what other writers were struggling/succeeding with and it felt good to share experiences and advice. The most common problem was not managing to write something every day. The solution seemed to be to just make ten minutes available each day if that was all the time you could manage.

Accountability

One of the wonderful things my writing coach did for me this time last year was to encourage me to set my own realistic writing targets and deadlines and keep to them. When each deadline came round there she was on the phone saying, “So how did you get on? Did you reach your target?” Surprisingly I was able to say yes each time and her reply was always, “Well done.” Being accountable to someone else was the thing that did the trick.

Towards the end of the Zoom session my writing coach said those same words to everyone, “So what are your targets for the next month? Why don’t you start Kim?” I was taken a little by surprise and found myself saying, “I thought you were going to give me a target!” At least it made everyone laugh.

Thinking out loud I managed to mutter about being able to do one Chapter a day and in one month’s time that would be 30 Chapters and ‘Oh my goodness that would mean I had got to the end!’ A small round of applause and more laughs sealed the deal. I listened in stunned silence as everyone else offered their own targets then it was time to wave a virtual goodbye.

Renewed Energy and Motivation

I went to bed feeling surprisingly happy and woke up yesterday with a newly acquired intent to carry on with the edit. With the added advantage of having no work lined up I was able to dispatch the emails in my inbox faster than usual and do just one part of a job application not due till next Monday. The accountability method was working. I sat at my computer ready and eager to get on with editing and managed to do Chapter 11.

So will it last? Who knows, but I have to strike while the iron is hot. Several writers in the group said they found it difficult to write when they were stuck indoors all the time, too many distractions. So far today I’ve spent all my time gardening and the job application needs to be finished by 4pm…… will have to edit Chapter 12 after that then…. 

Already Slipping

I had already put the date of the next Writers Meet Up in my diary, I had promised one chapter a day. If I don’t do any today that’s one day gone, one day off target. Will have to do two chapters tomorrow to catch up…..

Some writers gave examples of other people they knew who found it easy to write on train or bus journeys. So I may need to get out of the house now and then, take the laptop to the library once or twice a week, visit a literary friend for a few days, go to my writer’s retreat – a caravan on the coast. I may have to ask my writing coach for some more help, here’s a link to her latest blog if you need help too.

2 thoughts on “Stuck in the slow lane

Leave a comment